About the HBSA

Established in 1913, the Hamilton/Burlington Society of Architects (HBSA) is comprised of members and affiliates from the local architecture community. The HBSA represents the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) locally, providing communication, public relations and professional development for its members.

The HBSA is managed by an Executive Committee consisting of 5 positions: a Chair, a Vice-Chair, a Secretary, a Treasurer, and the Past Chair. These positions are filled by way of elections held at the Annual Meeting of the HBSA.

Members can look to the HBSA as a resource for practice and technical information. In addition, the HBSA shall provide a central focal point for professional development, education, community and social activities – ensuring these activities are accessible to members.

The HBSA is actively involved in establishing programs designed to enhance the general public’s understanding of architecture and the profession of architecture. By organizing events that deal with local issues, the HBSA can present factual demonstrations illustrating how the profession of architecture can contribute to the local community.

HBSA Executive Members

Christina Karney


Paula 150612

Paula Hamilton


Esther Link


Cecilia Nin Hernandez


Graham McNally



The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) is charged with the duty of regulating the practice of architecture, to govern its members, and uphold the regulations and by-laws of the OAA in order that the public interest may be served and protected.

In order to fulfill its duty, the OAA has provided additional objects to carry-out its primary charge: Standards of knowledge and skill among its members, Standards of practice, and Standards of ethics must all be established, maintained and developed. In addition, the OAA is dedicated to the promotion of, and public appreciation of, architecture and the allied arts and sciences.

The Ontario Association of Architects is a self-regulating organization governed by the Architects Act, which is a statute of the Government of Ontario.